The cornerstone for the building was laid on April 26, 1916, by Grand Master Ralph H. Wheeler. It was Dedicated on April 10, 1917, again by MWB Wheeler.
The Architect, LFW Steube, was a Past Master of Olive Branch Lodge 38 and a prolific architect of buildings in Illinois and Indiana early in the 20th century. In addition to this Masonic Temple, he was the architect of the "old" Masonic Temple in Mattoon, the Vermilion County Courthouse, and Ashmore Estates in Coles County.
Over the years, the building has housed several Masonic Bodies and Organizations, including multiple Blue Lodges, the Scottish Rite, the York Rite, various Orders of the Eastern Star, The White Shrine of Jerusalem, Jobs, Daughters, and the Order of DeMolay for Boys.
Currently, the building is occupied by the Valley of Danville AASR-- the building owner-- and its Eastern Illinois Children's Learning Center for Dyslexia, Olive Branch Lodge No. 38 AF & A.M., Corinthian Lodge No. 31 F&AM PHA, Iris Chapter No. 307 Order of the Eastern Star, L.L. Lockard Chapter Order of DeMolay for Boys, and Mimi's Kitchen, an on-site caterer. The Valley's Board of Directors recently approved the creation of a group called Valley productions, whose purpose is to bring entertainment acts to the building to help the building sustain itself and entertain the local community.
Tours of the iconic building will be available to all attendees!
Post a Comment